Application Examples

Following are some examples of manifold process monitoring applications.

Recliner
Radial
Motor
ABS
Elektrisch
Lenksäule
AGR
Prismatische Zelle
PCB-Board
Hairpin

Application Examples

Cleaning Battery

Laser cleaning is often used to prepare the housings of prismatic cells. By doing so, organic residues of release agents are removed from the later joint in advance. Impurities can cause seam defects in the later weld seam, which can lead to leaks. 

System:

TruLaserCell 3000
TruMicro 7070
PFO 33

Integration into the Laser.

Application:

Aluminum cleaning

WeldWatcher:

v. 5.343
HS-Sensor

Further Information

Contact us!

In Cooperation with:

Trumpf

Welding CuSn6/1.4301 – Spatter Detection

Welding with visible laser radiation (blue): Certain seam defects regarding joining connections of different types can also be detected during the welding processThe following example shows a connection between a copper alloy and stainless steel. In this case, contamination resulted in an ejection. The WeldWatcher detected this ejection reliably. 

Spatter Detection on CuSn6/1.4301

Setup:

Laserline LDM blue 1000-40
IPG Single Mode 1000 W

Fraunhofer ILT Welding Head

Process:

P = 950 W @450nm
P = 950 W @1070nm

v = 100 mm / s

WeldWatcher:

Combi Sensor (dual)
v 5.323

Integration in processing scanner 

Further Information

Contact us!

In Cooperation with:

Kupfer Aluminium Durchmischung

When joining materials of different types such as aluminum with copper, good process management is extraordinarily essential. If the two materials mix too much, intermetallic phases are formed that are brittle and undesirable. If the welding depth is too low, the connection cross-section is no longer sufficient to achieve the desired tensile strength. 

In this application example, we found an approach to determine the mixing of the materials during welding indirectly. The picture shows the top view of the seam. It can be seen that the underlying curve of our signal correlates with the aluminum content on the top of the weld seam. 

Highmotion 2D

System:

IPG YLS-6000
HighYag HighMotion 2D

Integration in the beam switch (monitoring of all outlets) 

Application:

Cu 0,3 mm auf Al 1,0 mm
6000 W
18 m / min

WeldWatcher:

v 6.0.1.0
HS (Single)

Further Information

Contact us!

In Cooperation with:

II-VI Highyag

Laser bonding is increasingly used for connections in battery technology and power electronics. A flat wire is placed on the component and welded at two points with spot or linear seams. The remarkable thing is the low heat input. Also, short welding times are achievable. For the bonding of a sensitive component, the ceramic of the PCB must not be destroyed. In cooperation with Fraunhofer ILT, we have evaluated the possibilities of defect detection during such a bonding process. 

PCB-Board
Aufbau bonden

Setup:

SPI Single Mode 1 kW

Machine:

ILT / F&K Delvotec

Process:

1 kW @100 mm / s

2 mm x 0,25 mm Copper
Seam length 1 mm

 

WeldWatcher

v. 5.323

Combi Head (dual)
integrated into processing head  

Laser bonden

As power increases, process radiation increases too. This observation is due to higher thermal radiation. At 68% of the laser power, there is an ejection at the beginning of the second half of the seam, as the laser radiation reaches and destroys the ceramic base material. Thus, in this application, the system can be used to prevent welding into the ceramic material reliably during production. Also, the WeldWatcher is a valuable aid for prevention, as the laser power can be set explicitly to stable process parameters. 

 

Further Information

Contact us!

In Cooperation with:

Hairpin

The joining of copper connections is a primary production step of the electric motor. Modern electric drives are “wound” with rectangular wires instead of round wires. Each of these 100 to 200 hairpin pairs must always maintain electrical conductivity over its service life. If a connection fails, the motor will no longer work. In cooperation with the Institute for Beam Tools in Stuttgart, we have analyzed in complex series of tests how and with what benefits the WeldWatcher could be used for automatic monitoring during welding. 

Ejections can occur, in particular, due to contamination and paint adherence. In this case, shown here, the ejection at the end of the weld is no longer visible; the seam is from outside “OK”. A look at the computed tomography result shows that there are large imperfections and many small bubbles inside. With the WeldWatcher®, it is visible that the seam is not OK already during the welding process. In this way, time-consuming and costly tests such as CT or micrographs can be saved. 

System:

TruDisk 8001
PFO 33

Application:

Copper Hairpin Welding 4 mm x 2 mm 

WeldWatcher:

v. 5.343
AT-Sensor (single)

Further Information

Contact us!

In Cooperation with:

IFSW

You did not find your application?

With more than 1400 systems installed worldwide, we have a lot of experience in all sorts of laser processes. Simply contact our experts to review your requirements and discuss solutions that are right for your application. We would be happy to visit your location in order to better understand your process and determine how our solutions might meet your expectations.

Need more information?

Contact us!

Anwendungsbeispiele

Die Einsatzmöglichkeiten der Prozessüberwachung sind vielfältig. Wir haben für Sie einige Beispiele zusammengestellt.

Recliner
Radial
Motor
ABS
Elektrisch
Lenksäule
AGR
Prismatische Zelle
PCB-Board
Hairpin

Anwendungsbeispiele

Cleaning Battery

Zur Vorbereitung der Gehäuse von prismatischen Zellen kommt oft das Laserreinigen zum Einsatz. Dabei wird die spätere Fügestelle gereinigt, um organische Überreste von Trennmitteln zu entfernen. Durch Verunreinigungen können Nahtfehler in der späteren Schweißnaht entstehen, die zu Undichtigkeiten führen können.

System:

TruLaserCell 3000
TruMicro 7070
PFO 33

Integration in den Laser.

Anwendung:

Aluminium reinigen

WeldWatcher:

v. 5.343
HS-Sensor

Weitere Informationen

kontaktieren Sie uns!

In Kooperation mit:

Trumpf

Schweißen CuSn6/1.4301 Überlapp – Spritzerdetektion

Schweißen mit sichtbarer Laserstrahlung (blau). Auch beim Fügen artungleicher Verbindungen können bestimmte Nahtfehler während des Schweißens erkannt werden. Sie sehen im folgenden Beispiel eine Verbindung zwischen einer Kupferlegierung und Edelstahl. In diesem Fall haben Verunreinigungen zu einem Auswurf geführt, der mit dem WeldWatcher zuverlässig erkannt wurde.

Spatter Detection on CuSn6/1.4301

Setup:

Laserline LDM blue 1000-40
IPG Single Mode 1000 W

Fraunhofer ILT Bearbeitungskopf

Prozess:

P = 950 W @450nm
P = 950 W @1070nm

v = 100 mm / s

WeldWatcher:

Combi Sensor (dual)
v 5.323

Einbau an Bearbeitungsscanner

Weitere Informationen

kontaktieren Sie uns!

In Kooperation mit:

Laser Welding Copper Aluminum

Beim Fügen artungleicher Werkstoffe wie Aluminium mit Kupfer kommt es ganz besonders auf eine gute Prozessführung an. Durchmischen sich die beiden Werkstoffe zu sehr, kommt es zur Bildung intermetallischer Phasen, die sehr spröde und daher unerwünscht sind. Bei zu geringer Einschweißtiefe reicht der Anbindungsquerschnitt nicht mehr aus, um die gewünschte Festigkeit zu erreichen. Daher haben wir in diesem Anwendungsbeispiel einen Ansatz gefunden, die Durchmischung der Werkstoffe beim Schweißen indirekt festzustellen. Das Bild zeigt die Draufsicht auf die Naht. Man erkennt deutlich, dass die darunterliegende Kurve unseres Messsignals mit den Aluminiumanteilen an der Schweißnahtoberseite korreliert.

Highmotion 2D

System:

IPG YLS-6000
HighYag HighMotion 2D

Integration in die Strahlweiche (Überwachung aller Abgänge)

Anwendung:

Cu 0,3 mm auf Al 1,0 mm
6000 W
18 m / min

WeldWatcher:

v 6.0.1.0
HS (Single)

Weitere Informationen

kontaktieren Sie uns!

In Kooperation mit:

II-VI Highyag

Das Laser bonden wird zunehmend für Verbindungen der Batterietechnik und der Leistungselektronik eingesetzt. Dabei wird ein Flachdraht auf das Bauteil aufgesetzt und an zwei Stellen mit Punkt- oder Linearnähten verschweißt. Das Besondere ist die geringe Wärmeeinbringung. Zudem werden auch sehr kurze Schweißzeiten realisiert. Für das Bonden eines empfindlichen Leistungsbausteins ist es wichtig, dass die Keramik des PCBs nicht zerstört wird. In Kooperation mit dem Fraunhofer ILT haben wir die Möglichkeiten der Fehlerdetektion beim Bonden evaluiert.

PCB-Board
Aufbau bonden

Setup:

SPI Single Mode 1 kW

Maschine:

ILT / F&K Delvotec

Prozess:

1 kW @100 mm / s

2 mm x 0,25 mm Kupfer
Nähtlänge 1 mm

 

WeldWatcher

v. 5.323

Combi Head (dual)
installiert am Bearbeitungskopf

Laser bonden

Mit zunehmender Steigerung der Leistung entsteht auch immer mehr Prozessstrahlung. Dies ist auf die nun höhere thermische Strahlung zurückzuführen. Bei 68% der Laserleistung kommt es zu Beginn der 2. Nahthälfte zu einem Auswurf, da hier die Laserstrahlung den keramischen Grundwerkstoff erreicht und zerstört. Somit kann das System in dieser Anwendung dazu verwendet werden, das Einschweißen in den keramischen Werkstoff nicht nur zuverlässig während der Produktion zu verhindern. Der WeldWatcher ist in diesem Fall auch eine wertvolle Hilfestellung zur Prävention, indem die Laserleistung gezielt auf stabile Prozessparameter eingestellt werden kann.

 

Weitere Informationen

kontaktieren Sie uns!

In Kooperation mit:

Hairpin

Das Fügen von Kupferverbindungen ist ein zentraler Fertigungsschritt des Elektromotors. Moderne Elektroantriebe werden mit Rechteckdrähten statt mit Runddrähten „gewickelt“. Jedes dieser 100 bis 200 Hairpin-Pärchen muss die elektrische Leitfähigkeit zuverlässig über die Lebensdauer aufrecht erhalten. Fällt eine Verbindung aus, funktioniert der Motor nicht mehr. Wir haben daher in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Strahlwerkzeuge in Stuttgart in aufwendigen Testreihen analysiert wie und mit welchem Nutzen man den WeldWatcher zur automatischen Überwachung während des Schweißens nutzen könnte.

Insbesondere durch Verunreinigungen und durch Lackanhaftungen können Auswürfe entstehen. In dem hier gezeigten Fall ist der Auswurf am Ende der Schweißung nicht mehr zu erkennen; die Naht ist äußerlich „in Ordnung“. Ein Blick auf das Ergebnis der Computertomographie zeigt, dass sich im Inneren sowohl große Fehlstellen als auch viele kleine Blasen befinden. Mithilfe des WeldWatcher® kann man schon während des Schweißens sehen, dass die Naht offensichtlich nicht in Ordnung ist. Auf diese Weise können zeitaufwändige und kostspielige Prüfungen wie CT oder Schliffbilder weitgehend eingespart werden.

System:

TruDisk 8001
PFO 33

Anwendung:

Kupfer Hairpin Schweißen 4 mm x 2 mm

WeldWatcher:

v. 5.343
AT-Sensor (single)

Weitere Informationen

kontaktieren Sie uns!

In Kooperation mit:

IFSW

Ihre Anwendung ist nicht dabei?

Mit weltweit über 1400 installierten Systemen verfügen wir über einen reichhaltigen Erfahrungsschatz. Kontaktieren Sie unsere Experten und wir besprechen Ihre Problemstellung gemeinsam. Gerne bieten Ihnen Testversuche vor Ort an, damit Sie schnell zu einer ersten Einschätzung kommen, ob und welche Art der Prozessüberwachung für Sie die beste Lösung ist.

Weitere Informationen

kontaktieren Sie uns!